skip navigation

Elijah Varona Max Wohlabaugh Anthony Artalona Fargo All American

By Team Florida, 07/30/16, 9:00PM EDT


USA Wrestling Jr. National Greco Roman championships being wrestled in Fargo, North Dakota saw Florida Amateur Wrestling Association have 2 runner ups and a third place finish, as these three athletes were All American. Elijah Varona (106) and Max Wohlabaugh (160) were both Jr. National runner-ups, and Anthony Artalona (145) finished third. Last year Artalona and Wohlabaugh were Cadet National Champions, and Varona was runner-up. Congratulations to these athletes, their families, and their coaches. A special thanks to Pam Ray for all of her hard work and to her entire staff.

Junior - 106
1st Place - Jaret Lane of Pennsylvania
2nd Place - Elijah Varona of Florida
3rd Place - Jason Holmes of Arizona
4th Place - Nathan Rankin of Texas
5th Place - Brandon Kaylor of Washington
6th Place - Ty Smith of Nevada
7th Place - Tyler Cunningham of Nebraska
8th Place - Cevion Severado of Missouri

1st Place Match - Jaret Lane (Pennsylvania) won by decision over Elijah Varona (Florida) (Dec 5-2)
3rd Place Match - Jason Holmes (Arizona) won by tech fall over Nathan Rankin (Texas) (TF 12-2)
5th Place Match - Brandon Kaylor (Washington) won by tech fall over Ty Smith (Nevada) (TF 10-0)
7th Place Match - Tyler Cunningham (Nebraska) won by decision over Cevion Severado (Missouri) (Dec 6-4)

Junior - 160
1st Place - Anthony Mantanona of California
2nd Place - Max Wohlabaugh of Florida
4th Place - Colton Clingenpeel of Iowa
4th Place - Layne VanAnrooy of Oregon
5th Place - Fritz Schierl of Wisconsin
6th Place - Eric Hong of Pennsylvania
7th Place - Ricky Gonzalez of California
8th Place - Andrew Johnson of Kansas

1st Place Match - Anthony Mantanona (California) won by decision over Max Wohlabaugh (Florida) (Dec 8-5)
5th Place Match - Fritz Schierl (Wisconsin) won by decision over Eric Hong (Pennsylvania) (Dec 10-8)
7th Place Match - Ricky Gonzalez (California) won by decision over Andrew Johnson (Kansas) (Dec 12-4)

Junior - 145
1st Place - Ryan Deakin of Colorado
2nd Place - Jaron Jensen of Utah
3rd Place - Anthony Artalona of Florida
4th Place - Conner Noonan of Oregon
5th Place - Dylan Thurston of Illinois
6th Place - Alexander Lloyd of Minnesota
7th Place - Vincent Dolce of Arizona
8th Place - Justin Ruffin of Georgia

1st Place Match - Ryan Deakin (Colorado) won by decision over Jaron Jensen (Utah) (Dec 2-1)
3rd Place Match - Anthony Artalona (Florida) won by tech fall over Conner Noonan (Oregon) (TF 10-0)
5th Place Match - Dylan Thurston (Illinois) won by decision over Alexander Lloyd (Minnesota) (Dec 4-3)
7th Place Match - Vincent Dolce (Arizona) won by decision over Justin Ruffin (Georgia) (Dec 18-15)